Top listeners:

skip_previous play_arrow skip_next
00:00 00:00
  • cover play_arrow



Taron Egerton, Rakie Ayola and Russell T Davies among BAFTA Cymru winners | UK News


share close

Taron Egerton, Rakie Ayola and Russell T Davies were among the winners at BAFTA Cymru on Sunday night.

The winners at the 32nd BAFTA Cymru Awards were announced at a ceremony at the ICC Wales in Newport.

The awards, which aim to “honour excellence and celebrate talent across film and television in Wales“, were hosted by the presenter Alex Jones.

Egerton won the award for best actor for his role in Apple TV+’s crime drama miniseries Black Bird.

BAFTA Cymru Awards Masks
Pic:Mei Lewis/BAFTA
Pic: Mei Lewis/BAFTA

Ayola took home the best actress gong for her role in BBC drama The Pact.

She was also awarded the Si├ón Phillips award – one of the ceremony’s highest accolades – which is awarded to a Welsh individual who has made significant contributions to film or television.

Writer Russell T Davies, whose first episodes back at the helm of Doctor Who will air next month, won best writer for his work on ITV’s Nolly which was based on the story of the late Crossroads star Noele Gordon.

NEWPORT, WALES - OCTOBER 15: Luke Evans poses with the Entertainment Programme award for 'Luke Evans: Showtime!' during the BAFTA Cymru Awards 2023 held at the International Convention Centre Wales on October 15, 2023 in Newport, Wales. (Photo by Hoda Davaine/BAFTA/Getty Images for BAFTA)
Luke Evans. Pic: BAFTA Cymru

Singer and actor Luke Evans was rewarded in the entertainment programme category for Luke Evans: Showtime!

Sky Cinema’s Save the Cinema, documenting how the Lyric Theatre in Carmarthenshire was saved from closure, won two accolades for costume design and production design.

Read more from Sky News:
Veterinary hospital at Battersea named after Paul O’Grady
Liam Gallagher announces Definitely Maybe 30th anniversary tour

Sky Max’s The Lazarus Experiment won the award for television drama, while The Rising picked up the prize for sound.

Chloe Fairweather won in the factual director category, for Sky Documentaries’ Scouting For Girls: Fashion’s Darkest Secret.

Source link

Written by: radioroxi

Rate it

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *